

Kent Local Medical Committee

8 Roebuck Business Park, Ashford Road Harrietsham Kent ME17 1AB Tel: 01622 851197 Fax: 01622851198 Email Info@kentlmc.org

Medical Secretaries: Dr M Parks
Dr J Allingham
Clerk Mrs Liz Mears

Highlights from the Kent Local Medical Committee April 2014

Dr Mike Parks welcomed members to the inaugural meeting of the new Committee, and especially welcomed Drs Mark Speller, Reshma Syed, Muhammad Sohail, Chidambaram Balachander, Kavita Pancholi, Saijit Shetty and Amit Kumar as newly elected members.

It was noted that there remained vacancies for sessional GP representatives in Ashford and South Kent Coast. Members were requested to encourage sessional GP colleagues who may be interested in joining the Committee to contact the office.

Election of Chairman

Members were invited to stand for election as Chairman of the Committee, and delivered brief presentations. Votes were cast, counted and verified, and Dr Julian Spinks was duly elected and assumed the Chair.



Dr Stephen Meech presented the LMC Chain of Office to Dr Julian Spinks

Election of Vice-Chairmen

Members indicated their intentions to stand for election and delivered brief presentations. Votes were cast, counted and verified and Julian Spinks announced that Drs Gaurav Gupta and Stephen Meech were duly elected. Mike Parks thanked Robert Blundell for his contribution to the Committee as Vice-Chair for the previous term of office.

Co-opted Members

The members unanimously agreed to coopt Drs Paula Newens and Anup Patel as GPST2 representatives to the Committee from April 2014 until March 2015. Mike Parks agreed to extend an invitation to the Ophthalmic Medical Practitioners for a representative to attend future meetings.

Election of Executive Sub-Committee

In addition to the Chair and Vice-Chairs, the Committee were seeking to appoint 12 members to form the Executive-Sub-Committee, consisting of one contract holding member from each CCG in Ashford, Canterbury & Coastal, Dartford, Gravesham & Swanley, South Kent Coast, Swale and Thanet, two contract holding members from Medway and West Kent and two sessional GPs.

Members deliberated within their constituencies the following and appointments were made: Dr Simon Lundy (Canterbury & Coastal), Dr Ian Jones (DGS), Dr Gary Calver (South Kent Coast), Dr Reshma Syed (Swale), Dr Muhammad Sohail (Thanet), Chidambaram Balachander and Om Singh (Medway), Drs Robert Blundell and Richard Claxton (West Kent) and Drs Hans Van Sloun and Mark Speller (Sessional GPs). It was noted that in the absence of representatives from Ashford appointment would be made at a later date.

Election of Finance Sub-Committee

The Finance Sub-Committee consists of six members including the Chairman, two Vice-Chairmen and three other elected members. Drs Gary Calver, David

Lawrence and Robert Blundell announced their intentions and were duly appointed.

Kent & Medway GP Staff Training Advisory Board

John Allingham reported that the purpose of the Kent & Medway GP Staff Training Advisory Board is to primarily agree on behalf of Kent & Medway GP Practices the training priorities for the use of the top slice levied on all practices. The Board consists of officers of the LMC, LMC Committee Members, Practice Managers and Practices Nurses from each of the 3 localities (North Kent, East Kent and West Kent), representatives from the Kent & Medway Area Team, CCGs and Kent & Medway Community Support. Members were invited to stand for election to the Board. Drs David Lawrence (North Kent), Robert Sadler (East Kent) and Amit Kumar (West Kent) expressed an interest and were duly elected.

Cervical Screening Committee

Julian Mead expressed an interest in representing the LMC on the Cervical Screening Committee dependant on the days and frequency and duration of meetings.

Policy Recommendation and Guidance Committee

John Burke expressed an interest in continuing his role as LMC representative on the Policy Recommendation and Guidance Committee, but requested additional support in his endeavours. It was subsequently agreed that the LMC be represented by two members and John Burke and Hans Van Sloun were duly appointed.

Appointment of Observers

It was recommended that the Committee appoint representatives from the Local Dental Committee (LDC), Local Pharmaceutical Committee (LPC) and Local Ophthalmic Committee (LOC) to attend Full LMC meetings as observers. The Committee unanimously agreed to extend invitations to the LDC, LPC and LOC for the duration of this term.

LMC Conference Motions

Julian Spinks provided a brief overview of the Annual Conference of LMCs, due to take place on the 22-23rd May 2014, and reported that Motions for the Conference had been submitted as agreed by the Committee.

Changes to the LMC Office

Julian Spinks announced that Di Tyas has stepped down from the post of Clerk to the LMC and Liz Mears has been duly appointed. Di Tyas was thanked for her tremendous effort and support she has given to practices over the years. Di will continue to work with the LMC as an Advisor on a temporary part-time basis.

Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Committee will be held at 2.15pm on Thursday 12th June 2014 at the Village Hotel, Maidstone.

Kelly Brown LMC Liaison Support Officer